Gardel Lab Team

Principal Investigator

Margaret Gardel

Margaret Gardel

Horace B. Horton Professor, Physics and Molecular Engineering
Director, James Franck Institute
Institute for Biophysical Dynamics

Email: gardel@uchicago.edu
BioCV | PubMed | Google Scholar | Twitter  

Research Scientist

Yvonne Beckham

Yvonne Beckham

Ph.D. Developmental Biology,
University of Toronto, 2003

Molecular Biology Godsend, Actin Cross-linking Proteins, Gene Expression

email: ybeckham@uchicago.edu

Postdoctoral Fellows

Mehdi Molaei

Mehdi Molaei

Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering,
Texas Tech University, 2015

Active fluids

email: mmolaei@uchicago.edu

Soumya Mukherjee

Soumya Mukherjee

Ph.D., Biological Sciences,
University of Minnesota

email: soumyam@uchicago.edu

Shailaja Seetharaman

Shailaja Seetharaman

Ph.D., Cell and Developmental Biology,
Institut Pasteur and Université de Paris, 2020

Cell and tissue mechanics

email: shailaja@uchicago.edu

Graduate Students

Kash Baboolall

Kash Baboolall

Graduate Program in Biophysical Sciences

B.A. Mathematics and Chemistry Amherst, College, 2021 

LIM  mechanotransduction

email: kdbaboolall@uchicago.edu

Theresa Chmiel

Theresa Chmiel

Graduate Program in Physics Department

B.A., Physics,
Kenyon College, 2017

Mechanics of Membrane Curvature

email: chmielt@uchicago.edu

Wen-Hung Chou

Wen-Hung Chou

Graduate Program in Biophysics

B.S., Physics,
National Taiwan University, 2016

Regulation of Non-muscle Myosin Minifilament Assembly

email: whchou@uchicago.edu

John Devany

John Devany

Graduate Program in Physics Department

B.S., Physics,
University of California, Santa Barbara, 2016

Mechanics and Motility in Epithelial Tissues

email: jdevany@uchicago.edu

Amanda Johnson

Amanda Johnson

Graduate Program in Development, Regeneration & Stem Cell Biology

B.S., M.S. Cell & Molecular Biology, San Francisco State University, 2019

Mechanical regulation of stem cell fates

email: amandabrook@uchicago.edu

Margo MacDonald

Margo MacDonald

Graduate Program in Biophysics
B.A., Physics &

Biophysics; M.S., Physics
University of Pennsylvania, 2018

Neutrophil Extracellular Traps and Metastasis

email: margomac@uchicago.edu

Ayanna Matthews

Ayanna Matthews

Graduate Program in Physics Department

A.B., Physics, Princeton University, 2020

Cell Mechanics in Epithelial Tissue

email: matthewsa@uchicago.edu

Steven Redford

Steven Redford

Graduate Program in Biophysics

B.S., Chemical Biology,
University of California, Berkeley 2016

Active Actin Materials

email: redford@uchicago.edu

Heather Rizzo

Heather Rizzo

Graduate Program in Cellular and Molecular Biology

B.S., Cellular and Molecular Biology, Trinity University, San Antonio, 2019

Mechanotransduction, Junctional Remodeling, and Cell Signaling

email: hrizzo@uchicago.edu

Sarah Root

Sarah Root

Graduate Program in Biophysics (ISTP)

B.S. , Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Physics, University of Pennsylvania, 2021

LIM protein, machine learning

email: sroot@uchicago.edu

Undergraduate Students

Catalina Castaneda Fernandez

Catalina Castaneda Fernandez

Undergraduate Program in Physics and Economics

University of Chicago

looking at the formation of myosin stackss in the Gardel Lab

email: catalinac@uchicago.edu

Visitors

Zachary Briscoe

Zachary Briscoe

 

B.S., Applied Physics, Columbia University, 2022

Interests: Traction Force Microscopy, Soft Matter, and Machine Learning.

email: zwb2001@uchicago.edu

Staff

Zena Anderson

Zena Anderson

Project Assistant III

Administrative Support

email: zenaa@uchicago.edu

Dom Longbucco

Dom Longbucco

Financial Manager

Physical Sciences Division, Physical Sciences Divisional Administration, Local Business Center for Chemistry

email: dlongbucco@uchicago.edu

Megan Kyle

Megan Kyle

Financial Administrator

Physical Sciences Division, Local Business Center

email: mkyle@uchicago.edu

Scroll to Top