Gardel Lab Team

Principal Investigator

Margaret Gardel

Margaret Gardel

Horace B. Horton Professor, Physics and Molecular Engineering
Director, James Franck Institute
Institute for Biophysical Dynamics

Email: gardel@uchicago.edu
BioCV | PubMed | Google Scholar | Twitter  

Research Scientist

Yvonne Beckham

Yvonne Beckham

Ph.D. Developmental Biology,
University of Toronto, 2003

Molecular Biology Godsend, Actin Cross-linking Proteins, Gene Expression
email: ybeckham@uchicago.edu

Postdoctoral Fellows

Bob Harmon

Bob Harmon

Ph.D., Biological Sciences,
Northwestern University, 2013

Intercellular Mechanical Coupling
and Tissue Architecture

email: rharmon@uchicago.edu

Mehdi Molaei

Mehdi Molaei

Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering,
Texas Tech University, 2015

Active fluids
email: mmolaei@uchicago.edu

Soumya Mukherjee

Soumya Mukherjee

Ph.D., Biological Sciences,
University of Minnesota

email: soumyam@uchicago.edu

Shailaja Seetharaman

Shailaja Seetharaman

Ph.D., Cell and Developmental Biology,
Institut Pasteur and Université de Paris, 2020

Cell and tissue mechanics
email: shailaja@uchicago.edu

Graduate Students

Kash Baboolall

Kash Baboolall

Biophysical Sciences

B.A. Mathematics and Chemistry Amherst College, 2021 

LIM  mechanotransduction

email: kdbaboolall@uchicago.edu

Theresa Chmiel

Theresa Chmiel

Physics Department
B.A., Physics,
Kenyon College, 2017

Mechanics of Membrane Curvature
email: chmielt@uchicago.edu

Wen-Hung Chou

Wen-Hung Chou

Graduate Program in Biophysics
B.S., Physics,
National Taiwan University, 2016

Regulation of Non-muscle Myosin Minifilament Assembly
email: whchou@uchicago.edu

John Devany

John Devany

Physics Department
B.S., Physics,
University of California, Santa Barbara, 2016

Mechanics and Motility in Epithelial Tissues
email: jdevany@uchicago.edu

Amanda Johnson

Amanda Johnson

Development, Regeneration & Stem Cell Biology
B.S., M.S. Cell & Molecular Biology,
San Francisco State University, 2019

Mechanical regulation of stem cell fates
email: amandabrook@uchicago.edu

Margo MacDonald

Margo MacDonald

Graduate Program in Biophysics
B.A., Physics & Biophysics; M.S., Physics
University of Pennsylvania, 2018

Neutrophil Extracellular Traps and Metastasis
email: margomac@uchicago.edu

Ayanna Matthews

Ayanna Matthews

Physics Department
A.B., Physics,
Princeton University, 2020

Cell Mechanics in Epithelial Tissue
email: matthewsa@uchicago.edu

Steven Redford

Steven Redford

Graduate Program in Biophysics
B.S., Chemical Biology,
University of California, Berkeley 2016

Active Actin Materials
email: redford@uchicago.edu

Staff

Zena Anderson

Zena Anderson

Dom Longbucco

Dom Longbucco

Scroll to Top